Change the world

Nelson Mandela University launched its first Alumni magazine - Thetha - at the annual Alumni Awards recently.

Nearly 2000 Nelson Mandela University graduands were conferred their under- and postgraduate qualifications at the institution’s six summer graduation sessions this week.

Award recipients from left: Solomon Mudege (FIFA Master 2010), Kurt Pakendorf (BProc 1991), Dr Randall Jonas (PhD 2014), Amanda Antony (ND Music Ed 2015), Prof Hugh Jeffery (ND Technology Industrial Eng Machine Systems 1988), Hiten Parmar (MTech 2011), Kurt Kannemeyer (BProc 1999). David Brown (BCom Hons 2001) received his award in absentia. Nelson Mandela University Alumni Awards recognise alumni who have gone the distance and beyond in their various fields, to the benefit of society at local, provincial, national and international level. To read more about the Alumni Award Recipients click on the following link: 2018 Awards  

A renowned South African singing sensation, an international sports administrator, an e-mobility guru and a social justice advocate are just some of Nelson Mandela University’s alumni recognised for their outstanding contribution to society through their work.

(Left to right) Vice-Chancellor, Professor Sibongile Muthwa, Deputy Chair of Council, Siya Mhlaluka, award winner Bongi Siwisa, award winner Lesley Ann Foster and Chair of Council. Nozipho January-Bardill.

An international women’s rights activist, renowned rugby player and humanitarian and a businessperson with a passion for development were honoured at the annual Nelson Mandela University’s Council Prestige Awards for using their individual influence for the greater good of humanity.


The Alumni Annual Fund was launched at this year’s annual Alumni Thanksgiving Breakfast by the vice-chancellor, Prof Muthwa, and is an innovative approach to giving to encourage as many alumni as possible to give a small amount, of R50 a month or more if they can afford it.