HomeAbout AlumniActivities & NewsNotable AlumniHonorary DoctoratesAlumni in the NewsServices & SupportGiving BackMain Site
Banner image
Alumni Association
Message from the VC Message from the President Message from the Director


The Association supports and enhances the realization of the University's vision and mission through maintaining and expanding positive relationships with its members and through utilising and maximising their expertise, goodwill and influence in support of the University.


•Persons to whom a degree or diploma has been awarded to by the University, the former University of Port Elizabeth or the former Port Elizabeth Technikon.
•Any person to whom the Executive Committee of the Association, upon invitation to or application by such person, has been granted membership of the Association.

Goals & Functions

•To enhance the image of the association both inside and outside the Nelson Mandela University community as an important stakeholder body and an asset to Nelson Mandela University to support the realization of the university’s mission and goals

•To foster loyalty to and pride in Nelson Mandela University among members through effective communication so that they may positively influence others.

•To provide and foster the provision of opportunities for Alumni to contribute in financial and other meaningful ways to the advancement of Nelson Mandela University

•To provide Alumni opportunities to benefit from their relationship with the university

•To promote, protect and maintain the rights of the Alumni Association.

•To promote the ideals and purpose of the University to constituencies and stakeholders of the University.

Alumni Executive Committee  

The Alumni Executive Committee were elected at the Annual General Meeting held on Tuesday, 26 July 2016.


Khwezi Blose 

Alumni Association President

Elmari van de Merwe

Alumni Association Vice President

Paul Geswindt

Secretary & Director: Alumni Relations


Michelle Mbaco

Alumni Council Representative

              Khaya Matiso 

     Alumni IF Representative  

Welcome Kupangwa

Elected Member

Ayanda Mlatsha

Elected Member


Thomas Terblanche 

Co-Opted Member 


Lebogang Hashatse

Senior Director: Communication & Stakeholder Liaison  

Dr Denver Webb 

Senior Director: Strategic Resource Mobilization 

Luthando Jack 

Dean of Students

Dr Muki Moeng 

Deans Forum Representative 

Bamanye Matiwane

SRC Representative


Bongolethu Madlingozi 

SAS President  



Shene' Du Toit 

University Shop Manager 


Santhoshini Petersen 

Alumni Relations Coordinator (Staff) 


















Upcoming events

Alumni Events

AAEC Meetings

  • 08 November 2018

Telephone: +27(0)41 504 3935 | Fax: +27(0)41 504 2574 / 1417 | E-mail: alumni@mandela.ac.za

PO Box 77000 | Nelson Mandela University | Port Elizabeth | 6031 | South Africa

© NMMU 2011