Change the world


Newly Elected Alumni Association Committee

Alumni Association members elected new executive committee representatives at its AGM held on 06 August 2019 at the North Campus Conference Centre.




The mission of the Alumni Association is to support and enhance the realisation of the University's vision and mission through maintaining and expanding positive relationships with its members through utilising and maximising their expertise, goodwill and influence in support of the University.





More on our Elected members:

Khwezi Blose (President & Council Representative) is the MD and owner of Tina Consulting: Quantity Surveying Services and Siyaya Hygiene Services holds the following Mandela qualifications: BSc (Construction Economics) ‘05; BSc Hons: (Quantity Surveying) ‘05.




Michelle Mbaco (Vice-President & Council Representative) is the Senior Manager:  Outreach & Reporting for the ANC Parliament Caucus: Parliamentary of the Republic of South Africa and holds a BCom ‘05 and MA: (Development Studies) ’12.




Welcome Kupangwa (Treasurer) holds a BCom (Business Management) ‘14; BCom Hons (Business Management) ’15 and MCom ’14 and is a Lecturer at Nelson Mandela University in the Department of Management Practice.





Khaya Matiso (IF Representative) holds a BTech: (Business Administration) ’02 and an MTech (Business Administration) ’03 and is the College Principal at the Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET).





Adv Thanduxolo Nkala, (Elected Member) is a LLB ’16 graduate and is the Managing Director at 4IR as well as an Advocate of the High Court of South Africa.





Ayanda Mlatsha (Elected Member) holds a BCur (Extended Program) ’12 and Diploma: (Nursing Education) ’17, is the Coordinator and Student Liaison Officer in Nursing Science Department at Nelson Mandela University.






Lithemba Xotyeni (Elected Member) holds a Admin: (Political & Government Studies) ’13 and is an Administrative Assistant at Nelson Mandela Metropolitan Municipality.






Athenkosi Sityata (Elected Member) has a BCom: (General) ‘17; PG Dip: (Financial Planning) ’17 qualification and is the Finance Assistant for the Mandela Bay Development Agency.





Ex-Officio members of the Executive include:

  • Deans Forum Representative: Dr Muki Moeng
  • Dean of Students: Luthando Jack
  • Senior Director:  Strategic Resource Mobilisation Office: Prof Denver Webb
  • Senior Director: Communication & Stakeholder Liaison: Chantal Janneker
  • SAS President: Luvo Cakwebe
  • SRC President: Bamanye Matiwane
  • Alumni Relations Coordinator: Santhoshini Petersen (Alumni staff)
  • University Shop: Shene Du Toit (Alumni staff)