Change the world


Read more here on what our alumni have been up to 

National prestigious award for Prof Danie Hattingh

Professor Danie Hattingh, Director of eNtsa (the Innovation through Engineering Institute housed at Nelson Mandela University) and Professor in Mechanical Engineering at the University, has been announced as one of 2020’s Suid-Afrikaanse Akademie vir Wetenskap en Kuns (South African Academy for Science and Art) prestigious Award winners, namely the Honorary Medal of the Faculty of Natural Science and Technology.

Read more here: Prof Hattingh

Makamo x MaXhosa artwork sells for R670 000 at Save-A-Business auction


A collaborative tapestry created by artist Nelson Makamo and fashion designer and Nelson Mandela University alumni and former Alumni Award Recipient Laduma Ngxokolo sold for over half-a-million rand at an online auction held to raise funds for the support and relief programme of the Save A Business organisation.

Read more here: Laduma Ngxokolo


Alumni grabs Emmy Award


Mandela alumnus, Stuart Forrest, the Owner & CEO of Triggerfish has grabbed another International Emmy Award for the short dragon movie "Zog".

Forrest received an Alumni Achiever Award in 2018.

Read more here: Stuart Forrest


Mandela student maps coronavirus with spatial data

Honours student in Geographical Information Systems, Michelle Lee, created an operational dashboard for Covid-19 in South Africa as part of her methodology for her research project this year.  The map is similar to the famous Johns Hopkins University Covid-19 map.

Read more here: Michelle Lee


Prof Richard Cowling a legend of South African Science


Nelson Mandela University’s Prof Richard Cowling has been elected as one of 62 Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf) members profiled in the second edition of Legends of South African Science, which includes those elected from 1993 to 2000.  These scientists represent the apex of academic excellence and scholarship in a wide variety of fields from architecture to zoology and some of the longest standing ASSAf Members.

Read more here: Prof Richard Cowling