Change the world


At a recent Alumni Association Special Election Meeting, Ms Michelle Mbaco (BCom ’04, MA ‘13), was elected as an Alumni Council representative.

Ms Mbaco is currently a Senior Manager: Outreach and Reporting for the Parliament of South Africa’s ANC Parliamentary Caucus. She is a former educator and education official with qualifications and training from several other academic institutions. She is active in national and local structures such the National Empowerment Fund board and the Nelson Mandela University Alumni Association Executive Committee.


Ms Mbaco will start serving her four year term on Council from July 2018. Prof Hugh Jeffrey’s term ends 30 June 2018. A former Dean of Engineering at PE Technikon, Prof Jeffery served the university in many different capacities for many years. The Alumni Association and the University thank him for his selfless service