Change the world


A special moment for Nelson Mandela University alumni relations also took place at the recent Alumni Awards ceremony! 

Toasting our alma mater and sharing best wishes at the recent Alumni Awards ceremony were six Alumni Association presidents (former and current) – Prof Japie Engelbrecht (former UPE), Dr Randall Jonas (former NMMU), Ms Beverley Erickson (former PE Tech), Vice-Chancellor Prof Sibongile Muthwa, Former Engineering Dean and former Council member - Prof Hugh Jeffery, Mr Siphile Hlwatika (current President), Mr Paul Geswindt (former UPE/NMMU) and Mr Khwezi Blose (former NMU). 

In 2004 just before the merger former Presidents of the UPE Alumni Association also gathered at the last UPE Alumni Association function. Two other former UPE Alumni Presidents were present at the 2004 event, Prof Hannes Marais and Mr Fritz Brand. Prior to the establishment of the Alumni Associations there were Presidents of Convocation. The support of all our alumni is valued as we advance Nelson Mandela University. 
May Mandela University through its teaching, research and engagement activities excel in its service to society and our graduates continue to Change the World positively wherever they find themselves!